Newest Favourite Song – Lonely in Gorgeous

June 17, 2008 at 3:20 pm | Posted in Anime, Music, Recommendations and Reviews | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

By Tommy February6

The lyrics and an english translation can be found here.

This song is also the opening theme song for the anime, Paradise Kiss, written by Yazawa Ai. You may also know her from another series, Nana, whose manga is still ongoing. (although it might end pretty soon…)

I LOVE this song! lol It’s just so good and too cool for words. Hmm, I’m starting to wonder because I notice that a lot of the songs I start to really like are anime openings and endings. Is it because I hear them more often? Oh well. That doesn’t change the fact that this is a great song that has an amazing beat. Tomoko Kawase (Tommy’s real name) has such a seductive voice that really fits the song. My only criticism (if it can even be called one) is that it’s so powerful that I feel sad and lonely after listening to it! But I still love it. And when I think about the lyrics, it fits the show really well. How do they always get songs that work so well the the show they’re being used for? It’s a mystery to me, but one that I’m not complaining about. 🙂

I guess while I’m on the subject of Paradise Kiss, I might as well say that this show was really good. Even though it got quite condensed at the end (like 8 manga chapters in one episode), it was still well done. I have read the manga as well, and I thought that it was great too, but now, I’m starting to get worried for Nana. Paradise Kiss was kind of left open-ended (at least for me!), especially with the time skip at the end, and Nana has a long time skip going on right now. I’m wondering whether Nana will also be left open-ended, since it is rumoured to finish in a few chapters… (probably ending at 77 or 78, which is symbolic if you had read the manga or watched the anime) Since they’re both by the same author, are they going to have similar endings…?

Either way, these are both great series and I hope I’ll find more of them!

Oh, and yes, I did spell ‘favourite’ with a ‘u’. You got a problem with that? No? Didn’t think so.

My song rating: 9.5/10

Random Quote: With each passing day, the world finds new and exciting ways to kill a man. – Balthier, Final Fantasy XII.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

