So… have tropes ruined your life?

July 20, 2008 at 2:07 am | Posted in Everything Else, Music | Leave a comment
Tags: , , ,

I’d have to say no, but I guess it’s a matter of opinion. 🙂

Here is the song Number One by Hazel Fernandez from Bleach.
http://mp3space.com/stream.php?id=103322
Great song! But I wish I could also find the instrumental version with that guitar solo…
By the way, this is what you call a Theme Music Power Up.

So… have tropes ruined your life? Well, maybe I should tell you what a trope is in case you don’t already know. Here’s what it says on the TV Tropes homepage:

Tropes are devices and conventions that a writer can reasonably rely on as being present in the audience members’ minds and expectations. On the whole, tropes are not clichés. The word clichéd means “stereotyped and trite.” In other words, dull and uninteresting. We are not looking for dull and uninteresting entries. We are here to recognize tropes and play with them, not to make fun of them.

I love this site too because they give you examples from shows to movies to books and even if you don’t know the story, it’s still interesting to read about them.

So before you decide whether they have ruined your life, lets have some examples! I already gave you one above, but I’ll list a few more and comment on them.

Be warned!
Depending on how interested you are in what you are about to read, you may find that a few hours have gone by due to the effect of an archive binge.

The Sorting Algorithm Of Evil
Villains must appear in strictly ascending order by menace.
Haha I love this one. And it’s so true! It’s the fundamental part of most action shows (especially those that include a Monster of the Week theme) and definitely every video game.

Rule Of Cool
The limit of the Willing Suspension Of Disbelief for a given element is directly proportional to its degree of coolness.
Another good one. This is important for many shows that are realistic but usually have one defining quality that make them unrealistic. If gone wrong, it can lead to What Do You Mean It’s Not Awesome?.

Evil Overlord List
The infamous lists of “Things I’ll do if I ever become an Evil Overlord”. Basically, it points out all the flaws in villains and lists interesting and straightforward ways to overcome them. I just think it’s funny that the list is so long! lol

Sure, Why Not?
Basically, when weird stuff becomes canon (aka the Word of God). Yeah, let’s go with that.

Love Dodecahedron
Right from the entry:
Love triangles are stressful and often heartbreaking. Add five or ten more people to the mix, and instead they become comedy: Characters A, B, C, and D all love character E, who might love any of them, but can’t commit for reasons of honor or basic wishywashiness.
Writers are always aware of it, and many series have official diagrams so the fans can keep track of the Loads And Loads Of Characters.

These are only the five that I chose to write about. There are so many more! Some other interesting ones worth mentioning are Conservation Of Ninjitsu, Everything Trying To Kill You, Your Other Left!, and Why Did It Have To Be Snakes?

So… I’ll say it again. Have tropes ruined your life? Well, I may not watch something the same way again, but I think I’m better because of it! lol

Random (or not so random) Quote:
Luke: I’ll never join you! You killed my father!
Vader: No, Luke. I am your father!
Luke: That’s not true! That’s impossible!
Vader: And Princess Leia is your sister!
Luke: That’s not true! That’s… improbable.
Vader: And the empire will be defeated by Ewoks!
Luke: That’s… very unlikely.
Vader: And, as a child, I built C3PO!
Luke: … Huh?
(one hour later)
Vader: And the Force? Well, that’s just microscopic bacteria in your bloodstream called midi-chlorians.
Luke: Look, if you’re not gonna take this seriously, I’m out.
Robot Chicken Star Wars special.

Oh, and I’m not making this up. 🙂

Or… is that what he told you…?

Trope count: 26

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

