Anime Review: Kaze no Stigma

July 23, 2008 at 1:35 am | Posted in Anime, Music, Recommendations and Reviews | 1 Comment
Tags: , , ,

Here’s the full version of the opening theme song, Blast of Wind, by Saori Kiuji.
http://mp3space.com/stream.php?id=104505
Edit: My music hosting site seems to be acting up (again!) so the songs may only work when they feel like it. (meaning who knows when… boo)

Summary: Four years ago, Kazuma Kannagi was defeated by his cousin Ayano Kannagi for the right to be the successor of Enraiha, a sword passed down in the Kannagi family. His defeat, along with his lack of talent for En-Jutsu, the fire arts, the Kannagis’ specialty, resulted in his banishment from the family. Now, Kazuma returns as Kazuma Yagami, a skilled master of Fu-Jutsu, the wind arts.
ANN

Alright, I do realize that this show finished a while ago, but I only started watching it a couple weeks ago. Excuse me for having a life being slow.

Note: Please don’t blame me if this turns into a character profile and not a review… I’ll try my best not to let that happen…

Now for my thoughts. First of all, this was a very pretty show, animation-wise, so this review will be full of pictures and hopefully no major spoilers. Nothing that you wouldn’t be able to deduce after seeing that poster above (i.e the main pairing). Oh, and I’ll add links to random tropes here and there wherever they come to mind. 🙂

So, to start off, the main character, Yagami Kazuma, is a total badass (or you can go for a noble demon and an anti-hero. I think having the name Yagami helps too (haha Light…).

Need more proof? Here’s the first pic (or second. I lied):

Yeah, I’m cool and I know it.

I’m not a huge fan of the red eyes, but not only does that change, but I think that fact that he has style makes up for it. Then again, I’m just a sucker for the jacket with slightly open shirts. (Ah… another reason why Vampire Knight is awesome…lol) For a main character, I thought he was awesome. He’s not floppy and he knows what he’s got to do: what he’s paid to do. And, as I was saying, you gotta love the eyes.

Whether they’re blue…

Or red…

Hehe sweet. But wait… should I be worried he’s smiling like that at his sleeping little brother? Hmm… Meh.

And… he’s powerful wind user (who loves using his razor winds). But that’s a given in order to be a badass, right?

Mercury Star Power! Haha, couldn’t resist.

Alright, enough on Kazuma lol. So, let’s introduce his co-star! The hot-tempered and a fairly typical tsundere, Ayano Kannagi.

BFS much? Nah, it’s just the angle. Oh, and it’s usually flamin’.

Oh, and of course it’s a sword, not a gun.

Okay, now to the story. The part that’s in the summary only last about 3 episodes, and then after that it’s just random incidents that happen to Ayano and her bodyguard and crush, Kazuma (although he’s only in it for the money), but it is very entertaining. Lots of cool fighting, funny characters, some drama thrown in, what’s not to like? Even though they mainly show fire and wind users, it’s still very cool. However, in the last arc (like the last couple eps), I feel it kinda went downhill. Kazuma hits the berserk button (which you’d think would be cool but…)

Okay, fine. That’s pretty badass.

Well, I don’t want to spoil too much, but basically, he gets soft, and I didn’t like that. Not only that, but the final battle lasted less than five seconds and there was no real opposition. Also, there were way too many panty shots (so many that they added in a bad guy who took pictures thinking it was art) that were definitely not needed. On the other hand, it did wrap itself up pretty nicely with a sort of requited love, which was weirdly done at the same time lol. You’ll have to watch it to understand… or maybe just take a look at this…

He’s totally enjoying that. And I love her expression 🙂

Hehe hell hath no fury like a woman scorned. (Don’t worry, I’m not gonna go all William Shakespeare on you. Or should I really say, William Congreve?)
It is pretty left open (a bit too open for my liking) for a possible second season, which I would watch if there was one. Basically, 24 episodes that had a great beginning and middle and an okay ending. It was not too deep, but not total fluff either. A nice combo. Even though I didn’t like Kazuma at the end, he’s still awesome. More than half this post is spent on him, so he better be good enough to be worth my time. (So yeah… it kinda ended up being a character profile… I tried so hard no to! Sorry…)

Song rating: 7.5/10
Has some good parts, not bad.

Series rating: 8.5/10
Story: 7/10
Animation: 10/10
Sound: 7/10
Character 9/10
Enjoyment 9/10

I’ve decided to start using a breakdown because I think that would make my review have more… of a review? Don’t know if that made sense… meh.

Random quote:Don’t blame me for kicking so much ass. Well, maybe you just suck. – Kazuma, Kaze no Stigma

Trope count: 12
Haha wow… they’re all over the place!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] DemonRoach wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

