So yeah…

July 25, 2008 at 4:56 pm | Posted in Everything Else, Manga, Pictures | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

I’ve been catching up on some manga and anime (and starting a ton more) and it seems that every scanlating group is always looking for more help. So I thought “Hey, I’m not doing much this summer. why don’t I try and help out?” So I started looking around at what people are looking for. There were some openings for translators (can’t do that), editors (hmm), proofreaders (hehe yeah!), cleaners (hmm), and quality checkers. But I thought before I go any further, let’s see what I can do. I can proofread (unless it’s a mistranslation) and cleaning doesn’t seem too difficult and editing is basically those two jobs put together? Different groups divide the jobs differently, so it really depends. But anyway, I wanted to test my cleaning skills. I was thinking, If it’s just erasing what’s in the bubbles, that should be easy, right? But then I thought, Wait… what about the stuff that’s NOT in bubbles? Aah! So I thought I’d try cleaning a raw page. I took one of my favourite chapters from Bleach as the guinea pig (chapter 306).

Here’s the raw and here’s my cleaned version.
Heh, not too shabby if I do say so myself! I think this particular page was both easy and hard. The hard part was that the page isn’t that great quality so there was a lot more fadedness. If there wasn’t, it would have been much easier. On the other hand, it was fairly easy because the artwork on this page wasn’t that complex. All I had to do was erase the stuff in the white boxes and then clone stamp like crazy. (Yes, I’m using Photoshop)

But then! (Yes there’s more!) I realized that this one page took me about 20 minutes. That’s a long time! But then again, not all pages will have that much writing not in bubbles, right? I guess it depends on the manga… I don’t know…

Basically, I chickened out and have yet to apply for a position. I’m so indecisive… and such a coward. But I’m not afraid to admit it. But doesn’t that make me not a coward…? Whatever. Now I’m thinking too much.

Oh! And I know this is totally off-topic, but I was looking around and found this GORGEOUS picture from Vampire Knight. Ahhh…

So pretty! … even with Yuuki chained… never mind that.

More random stuff: I admit I only visit Dattebayo like once a week, so I missed most of the anxiety that some of you might have. I was skeptical when I read about them permanently dropping Naruto Shippuuden but I wasn’t so sure, since they said “they were serious”. But, this week’s episode came around and lookie here, it is subbed! I didn’t know they had done this before, which kinda makes me wonder why they would do it again. I understand they’re trying to stop people from uploading it onto Youtube and stuff, but that’s not going to stop unless Youtube and other sites takes these matters into their own hands which they have been doing, but there’s no way they can get them all. Anyway, I’m not going to try and make a big deal out of this, so I’m leaving it here.

Random Quote: You’ve been chosen as an extra in the movie adaptation of the sequel to your life. – Shady Lane by Pavement
One of the more crazy quotes I’ve come across.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hey, not bad on the photoshopping! 🙂

  2. Hehe thanks! I was pretty surprised myself 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

