The night is darkest just before the dawn

August 10, 2008 at 10:03 pm | Posted in Everything Else, Recommendations and Reviews | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , ,

Heh, so I managed to find a way to link two things I’d done recently into the post title. Hehe what a coincidence. Or just me drawing parallels… Lost? That’s okay. It’s actually a quote by Harvey Dent from The Dark Knight which I saw a couple yesterday (yeah yeah I know it’s kinda late, but what can you do). And I thought it was pretty well done, all thwo and a half hours of it lol. It was long, but I didn’t really notice until the last hour of it (but I still thought it was three hours long… or more). I wasn’t really sure how they were going to deal with two villains in the movie, (three if you count Scarecrow) but I was actually surprised how well it played out. I was afraid it would end up like Spiderman 3, where I felt way too much time was spent on Sandman when Venom was so much cooler. And Heath Ledger (RIP…) was amazing as the Joker. His voice changed quite a bit that if all I heard was his voice, I would never thought it was him. Anyway, I was satisfied with how the movie was done 🙂

So what’s the other thing the title’s linked to? It’s similar to the title of the latest book I read, Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer. Hmm? What’s that? Wasn’t I reading the first novel in that series only last week? Well, that’s why I haven’t been writing too much. I’ve been reading.

As much as I admit that I have a fairly strong aversion to books, I was so hooked to this series that I finished all four books within the span of 8 days. And there was one day where I took a break. I still can’t believe it myself. I actually read 2444 pages in 8 days? It’s pretty mind-boggling to me. But I just want to say: This. Series. Is. Awesome. Not only is the story great, but I love the characters. You really feel for what these characters go through. And you kind of feel bad because everything bad that could happens, does, all because of Bella. And, after reading the last book *sniff* I have found a new appreciation for her. I’m not taking back what I said about her being a really annoying damsel in distress, but I feel bad that all this does happen to her and she is actually quite strong, in more ways than one. I don’t want to say too much that might be considered spoilage, so I’ll leave it there. And so she’s not completely useless after all 🙂 . Anyway, I was looking at some trailers for the move of the first novel, Twilight, coming out in December, and I’m somewhat impressed. Obviously, it’s not exactly how I imagined it would be, but Edward’s crooked smile is just about perfect. I’m very happy about that. But I don’t know if I’d consider his voice… as velvety as the books describe. But I guess you can’t have everything… boo. And there’s the fact that Edward was inhumanly perfect, so there’s no way a human could match that. Anyway, these books were such page-turners. It was an awesome read and I kept dreading that it would be over soon, trying to prolong the moment. But, as everything does, it had to come to an end… just like Avatar… stupid Kataang… I want Zutara! Alright, enough of the shipping rants. It’s just kind of annoying… That’s all.

Random Quote: Personal affection is a luxury you can have only after all your enemies are eliminated. Until then, everyone you love is a hostage, sapping your courage and corrupting your judgment. – Orson Scott Card, Empire

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

