Liar Game: as good as Death Note?

August 13, 2008 at 1:59 am | Posted in Everything Else, Recommendations and Reviews | 8 Comments
Tags: , ,

I recently discovered this manga called Liar Game by Kaitani Shinobu which has done well at replacing my psychological fill after Death Note. Is it as good? I’m not sure if anything can be as good as Death Note, but this series definitely has potential and if not already is really good.

Summary: At the sight of greed, your average human being always chooses money over integrity; however, such a thing is impossible for the Nao Kanzaki, who is about the most honest person you can find. But when she accidentally joined The Liar Game, her honesty has proved to be a deadly poison. In a game where every player has to either trick their opponents to gain a large prize, or be burdened with an equally large debt, the honest Nao Kanzaki has no choice but to get help from Shinichi Akiyama, a genius con artist that conned a multi-billionaire company. With the help of Akiyama, Nao Kanzaki now participates in the dangerous world of the The Liar Game.
ANN

Right off the bat, it has an interesting plotline. Stuck in a suspicious game with no way out and a lot to lose? What’s not interesting about that? And, although you’ll find the main character either really annoying or really pitiful, her “sidekick”, Akiyama, is awesome. He’s the one with the brains meaning he is also the one who saves the day. There are tons of twists and turns (and tons of creepy faces during the evil gloating and plan revealings) to keep you on your toes. It’s a great read that makes you want more. It is ongoing after 28 chapters (at least that’s how much that’s been scanlated as of yet) and it is definitely something worth picking up. If you’re into psychological stuff and looking for something to read after Death Note, this is definitely something you should look into reading.

Overall rating: 9.5/10
Story: 10/10
Art: 8/10
Character: 8.5/10
Enjoyment: 10/10

There is apparently a Japanese Drama of it, though no anime yet. I might check that out since they usually turn out pretty well (I’ve only seen parts of Absolute Boyfriend and Hana-Kimi’s drama, so that’s where I’m coming from)

Oh and I’ll be away for a while so go watch the Olympics! Go Phelps!

Random Quote: Real eyes realize real lies. – ????

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Awww… I wish people would give Nao more credit.

    Click here to see what I mean:
    http://liargame.wordpress.com/2009/03/12/first-liar-game-post-nao-kanzaki/

    I obviously couldn’t say all of that in a comment. ;D

    My opinion on this whole thing is that Liar Game is better than Death Note because the genius who knows handle people psychologically isn’t *gasp!* insane. The whole “I’m going to change the world with my superior intellect” is kind of old and trite to me…

    Light is an overdone, dramatic, and falsely idolized character. Akiyama did some not-so-great things either, but at least he’s kinder and more down to earth.

    This guy also explains my thoughts quite well.
    http://otaben.blogspot.com/2009/03/liar-game-and-why-you-should-be-reading.html

    On the other hand, the artwork for Death Note far surpasses Liar Game.

  2. lol mind you I wrote this after only reading 28 chapters and in my mind, I believe she only started really developing as a character around chapter 28 and onwards. (I haven’t read that far after chapter 28 so I can’t really say too much) I still believe she is too honest for her own good, but I’ll admit she does get better.
    I’m not saying Light is a perfect character either, and yes he is or at least becomes insane, but he doesn’t come off as weak as Nao does early in the series. That’s what I find kind of annoying.
    And yes, the artwork is much better in Death Note.
    That being said, I came across Liar Game in the hopes of finding something similar to Death Note, and I think I did.
    great links btw

  3. Haha, you responded very quickly. ^_^;

    There’s nothing wrong with an insane character at all. 😀 Hehe. I usually love that kind of thing, but I just thought that Light was too far gone and too far done, which kind of prevented me from reading the series as a whole.

    It’s just a matter of personal preference, really. I mean, Nao and Light are two different kinds of people, so it’s like comparing apples and orange. I was actually talking about Light and Akiyama– and I like the latter character more. He’s intense too, but not to an extent that I’m rolling my eyes. And he’s just more fun to be around!

    Though I have to admit that the scene when Light kills L was extremely, extremely chilling… I loved it and hated it.

    And thanks for noticing the links! ^__^ I wrote up the post in the first one, and the second one was just a favorite of mine.

    Hmm…I guess that’s all I have to say. 😀

  4. hehe ditto 🙂
    lol that’s quite true. Insane characters are often very amusing and while Light did go over the edge, I think in that setting, it kind of worked. And yeah, Light and Nao are quite different. Oh sorry, didn’t realize that lol. Akiyama is very cool and has the right balance of intensity, but I can’t say he quite beats Light character-wise just yet. I need to see more of him before I make a good comparison. Light has some amazing scenes and so does Akiyama but it’s not of the same calibre, yet. I do see Akiyama as having the potential to be greater than Light, but not just yet. I need to read more Liar Game lol.

  5. XD

    I guess we’re just gonna hafta agree to disagree then. ^__^; I just wish that more people could be open-minded about their fandoms, especially when it comes to disliking certain characters. You’ve been really good about my opinion, so thank you. 😀

    BTW, I was wondering if I could link here for my next post. (liargame.wordpress.com)

    Once again, thanks!

  6. lol I guess so. But I know what you mean. Some people are just too biased and blinded by their love for some things that they don’t see the bigger picture, which is usually more important. lol thank you and you’ve also been open to my opinions too 🙂
    of course!
    no prob 🙂

  7. I finished typing up the post! ^_^; (as I can see with the Pingback)
    Please tell me what your opinions and critiques are, I would love to hear them and use them to improve!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

