Grr… it’s pronounced “nuclear”!

October 3, 2008 at 6:22 pm | Posted in Everything Else, Music, Videos | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , ,

Like a Star by Corinne Bailey Rae

Beautiful, so sad, but I love it. I hate loving sad songs… and it’s weird because I don’t love being sad? Why are so many pretty songs sad? Prettiness is not necessarily sad, so… hmm…

Anyway…

So… did you watch the debate on Thursday night? There was a debate going on? What? There were TWO debates going on? Oh really? Yeah really. No way!
But… chances are, if you did watch one, it would have been the American Vice Presidential debate and not the Canadian federal debate. I tried going back and forth kinda but I also had to sleep so really I did not see much of either debates. All I really want to say is that even though Palin spoke much better than my expectations of her (they were quite low… but maybe that was their whole scheme to make her look better?) she was still too informal for a debate in my opinion. That and I couldn’t look at her because I could swear her bangs were poking her eyes and well, let’s just say I don’t like eyes and things (small and possibly sharp things) poking them. And did you catch her say “nucular”?

Oh geez. I simply cannot understand why people cannot pronounce that word. I’m sure there are much harder words to pronounce and yet numerous people still find difficulty on this one. Biden stumbled on the word characterized but that’s because he was saying it a few times in that sentence and it became somewhat of a tongue twister. That’s a word I can understand you may have difficulty saying, but nuclear? (It’s somewhere in the first 45 minutes lol… not exactly sure where because I stopped listening to what she was saying so I could rant in my head.) Sure, I can understand the desire to follow the pattern of particular, circular, spectacular and many others, but the thing is, this is an exception! If you know anything about the english language, or for that matter about anything, there are always exceptions (but then, is there an exception to the rule there are always exceptions? Well, you have a paradox). Anyway, you get the idea. Nuclear is an exception and should not be pronounced the same way. It’s as simple as that.

So yeah, I did just go all Grammar Nazi on… someone? I don’t even know who anymore. Oh yeah, Palin and everyone else who can’t pronounce nuclear correctly. Right.
I didn’t mean for this post to end up being centered around this topic, but it just happened. My bad.

And… there’s a rumour going around that there’s going to be a Robin live-action TV show, Smallville-style? Ehh… I’m not gonna say anything about that… yet.

Anyway, as usual, I’ll be catching up on my shows later this weekend and I’m excited for the new shows that are going to be starting next week! Hopefully, I’ll be able to write more about them, but we’ll see if time allows.

Later!

Random Quote: He who does not fear his own sword is not worthy to wield it. – Hisagi, Bleach chapter 325

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

