Better late than never, right?

November 17, 2008 at 6:41 pm | Posted in Anime, Everything Else | Leave a comment
Tags:

Hey! Sorry this is a bit later than usual… how am I more busy on weekends than on weekdays? Maybe this is just a one time thing. Still, very weird. I guess I have a little bit of reading to do… so we’ll see what happens. Yes, I’m writing a post as a form of procrastination. Meh, it gets the job done 🙂

So, somehow deluding myself into thinking that I had nothing to do early this past week, I started watching Shugo Chara. Having not watched the show before, I always pronounced it “Chara” versus “Kara/Kyara” now realizing that it comes from the word character. So it’s still taking me some time to get used to saying Kara since I always mentally read the name with a “ch”. Anyway, getting past the name, this is a pretty interesting show. The main interest is that all the main characters have little chibi-like would-be versions of themselves, a Guardian Character or a Shugo Chara, which hatched from eggs (basically representing their dreams). Meanwhile, the antagonists create X eggs and X Characters, corrupted forms of people’s dreams, and the protagonist Amu Hinamori has to purify them. Oh and everyone is looking for this special egg called the embryo that will be able to grant any wish.

For some reason, it reminds me of Cardcaptor Sakura, but that could be because it has the same target audience, the characters are both around grades 4-6, it’s cute, and it has lots of clothing changes. But I also have to say, probably because I’m older now than when I watched CCS, I find it sometimes overly cute. Shugo Chara is also interesting and different compared to other shoujo stories because here, it’s not like Amu’s team members knock down the opponent and then she finishes them off, but she can also do it single-handedly. Of course, her team members can help out, but she can and has done it herself many times. This is one of the main flaws of shoujo leads like, say, Sailor Moon and Mew Ichigo (From Tokyo Mew Mew).

Before I go any further, I guess I should explain how I really decided to start watching this show. It all started because I kept getting invitations to fanclubs for the character Ikuto, and the ship Amuto (AmuxIkuto), and after seeing this guy, well, I thought I might as well give this show a try. (That is similar to how I started watching Neo Angelique and Kaze no Stigma… so bishies are important to me when picking an anime. Is that so wrong?) Blue hair, sly cat, and a teasing yet aloof personality? What’s not to like? But *goes into fangirl mode* Ikuto is frickin awesome. I love the carefree sleepy catness to him 🙂 and Amuto is AWESOME! omg I so want to see that couple more. And that’s why it’s so fitting that he has the Dumpty key that unlocks her Humpty lock which is basically the key to her heart. Awww! lol omg I’m laughing at my own writing. Is it because it’s cheesy and something I would never actually say? Maybe that’s what makes it even funnier. 🙂
*deep breath*
Okay, I’m back to normal. But I have to admit, I am a total Amuto fan and I don’t like AmuxTadase. I never liked it from the beginning, but that could be because I didn’t hear about it first… Meh. And Ikuto is awesome and badass. He’s very cool, but I can’t say that he’s better than Sebastian (Kuroshitsuji) or Seiran (SaiMono) yet… We’ll see if it comes to that lol

So… Ikuto is in high school, it looks? Making the age gap between him and Amu around… 5-7 years? Meh, that’s still okay lol. Girls mature faster so the age difference is really like 3-5 years. That’s fine.

Anyway, I’m not gonna write my scores out yet because I’m pretty sure I’ll write more about this later, and I’m not that far in yet… and there’s even a second season still airing! But you can probably guess that my scores will be pretty high.

Wow… that was a very fangirl-ish post. That’s not my character! lol. But I have to say that that’s nowhere near as bad when I try to talk about Edward Cullen with some of my friends… Oh the Twilight cult… what have you created, Stephenie Meyer? An unattainable heaven making it a hell instead? Hmm…

Random Quote: I’m pretty sure that the downfall of humans can be completely attributed to their curiosity. – Ewon, Totally Captivated Chapter 1

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

