Catastrophe Overdrive!

January 17, 2009 at 4:53 pm | Posted in Anime, Everything Else, Recommendations and Reviews | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

haha…. I just think that’s a really funny title. And it actually does have a meaning and connection to what I’m about to talk about! In more ways than one! And that makes it extra cool.

So, first of all, I have finally finished Vampire Knight Guilty and Hakushaku to Yousei!
And I even finished them last Sunday. So guess what I did this week? Yup, I started another show! I don’t know why, but it just happened, and you know what’s even more weird? I finished it. All 25 episodes in a week. So how exactly was I able to not finish like 3 eps of VKG and HtY over the holidays and yet I was able to finished a 25-ep show in a week, and a school-week, no less? Well, videogames were more of a distraction during the holidays but really, I think it’s a procrastination overdrive, just before exams. But that’d really just be a catastrophe overdrive, wouldn’t it? 🙂
Wait… why am I smiling…? I really need to get my priorities straight.

So what’s the new/done show? Well, if you’re smart, you can figure it out from the title, but probably not since that phrase is only mentioned once in the show. But I thought it was really cool lol.

Edit: And, realizing now after I have written this post, I’m gonna save my review for HtY and the new show for another day. Sorry! You’ll just have to wait in suspense…
But I wanna keep the title because it’s cool lol.

Oh and since I’ll be talking a show I’ve finished watching, there will be spoilers.

Vampire Knight Guilty

So, I’m going to start here. Let it first be known that this is diverging from the manga because the manga has yet to reach this point in the plot. And since they wanted to wrap this up instead of stretching the show out with fillers, they went with an ending that was the happiest alternative at the time, kinda like what Claymore‘s anime did, which was royally butchered at its diverging point too. So basically, I would have rated this show an 8/10, but due to the crappy ending, it gets bumped down to a 7. Let me explain. I’ll start with the good stuff. As always, the art and animation was fabulous, one of the reasons I first got into its prequel. And secondly, it did have a good story. At least, the way it was portrayed in the manga. Maybe I would have liked it more had I not read the manga, but even if I read the manga afterwards, I would have still come to this conclusion. The anime’s pace was super slow. I’ll admit it got better, but they went out of their way to spend so much time on character development. Not only that, but some scenes were changed and one in particular that I noticed made certain characters look meaner (Kaname) or stupider (Yuuki, even more than she already is). And the final fight was very well done. I thought that was a good way to end it and it looked very cool. I also thought it did make sense how they showed Kaname as being the mastermind behind everything, which I’m fairly sure will happen in the manga, but if he was such a good chessmaster (haha there is a trope for this but Kaname doesn’t quite fit the bill… in my opinion. He didn’t make Zero fall in love with Yuuki, did he?) then why wouldn’t he have made sure Yuuki would have stayed with him? Don’t get me wrong, she does end up staying with him, but he’s surprised when it happens. He’s not the smartest guy after all. And the worst and unneeded scene change was the kiss! WHY THE HELL DID THEY MAKE IT INTO A BITE?!?!?! I’m sorry, but for humans, we would think it’s cuter if Yuuki and Zero kissed, LIKE THEY DID IN THE MANGA, versus a bite. They could have made it like the manga where they’re at gunpoint and then kiss, but no! It had to be a random bite. Ugh. I think that’s what really changed my mind and made this show a 7. Disappointing. Thank god the manga’s still going and the fact they diverged in plot means no more VK anime, unless it’s an OVA or something. But, ugh.. sure they wrapped it up nicely and I don’t even care about that. I thought that was actually a good idea but there were many slight things that should have been left the way they were.

And so, for the 13 eps,
Overall 7
Story 8
Animation 10
Sound 8
Character 8
Enjoyment 7

And if you think that looks off, I don’t consider Overall as being an average.

And in case you haven’t heard, they’re making a live-action movie of Cowboy Bebop, now officially starring Keanu Reeves as Spike. I’m pretty excited, and Keanu seems like more of a dream cast than an actual cast (I was assuming it’d be completely off like Avatar‘s movie casting… and Dragon Ball‘s casting… though that’s better since even though Goku isn’t Asian, some of the others are) and it seems like he’s got the monotonous voice down lol. But he better have an afro… or at least some with his hair… haha the look is very important! But he is a big-name actor so that’ll help for people who don’t know about the show (I’ll admit I wasn’t old enough to watch it when it came out but I have seen a number of episodes… just not in order. And I do know what’s going on, so I’m not totally clueless like some people.)

Random Quote: Maybe this world is another planet’s hell. – Aldous Huxley

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

