Oh yes… a new show

January 26, 2009 at 1:54 pm | Posted in Anime, Everything Else | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , ,

Well, I saw this coming, but what I didn’t expect was this post getting long enough that I would decide to post it during the week. Well, you surprise even yourself sometimes… 🙂

I just watched the first episode of the new show Lie To Me and I just have to say I thought it was fabulous. This is definitely getting added to my list of shows. I love the glares and stares of the main guy, Cal Lightman and for some reason, he reminds me of House from House (that sounded redundant lol), even though I’ve only seen a few episodes of that (yes, I know… it’s a shame). I think it’s their harsh and hidden (or not so hidden?) pessimistic view on life that I like, maybe because it’s kinda of like my view? lol perhaps, perhaps.
I really liked the style of the show and how they emphasized the little gestures or microexpressions to get us into the mind of Lightman and see what he sees without explicitly saying that. What I’m a little worried about though is how far this show can go, because part of the reason I liked this episode so much was that I learned some of the microexpressions that people use to show or hide certain expressions and show how they lie, but I’m under the impression that there can only be so many different ways the body tells us that a person is lying. At that point, I feel like it might get repetitive, but then again, the idea of CSI sounds repetitive and yet I love that show and there are at least three shows like that (I don’t like CSI: New York. And you may say it’s just the same as either of the other two, but it’s not just the characters I don’t like, but it’s just too grey. Las Vegas is dark, Miami is sunset-coloured, and New York is grey. From a random recent episode I saw of it, it looks like it got better, but it’s still there. I guess I’m biased now against it so there’s an even less chance of me getting to like it, but well, yeah).


Also, I’m a bit scared that if I watch this too much I may start using these techniques on friends but using them wrongly and end up making really bad decisions. lol but I guess that’s like people who’ve watched CSI enough think they know how to commit the perfect crime? Or going on an archive binge and having tropes ruin my life? Or enhanced it? Hmm… let’s just go with a bit of both, but probably leaning more to the ruining side lol.

So, as you may or may not know, Crunchyroll is removing a lot of its fan-subbed videos for professional material. This new deal includes subs of new episodes 1 hour after they air in Japan (for those with a paid membership) while the freeloaders have to wait a week for the content. This, being legal, is obviously great, but the fact is that we’re still greedy. A week is frickin LONG! And right now, Crunchyroll isn’t the only place for anime. Crunchyroll is a great site, but until they shorten the week-long time period, I’m going to go elsewhere for my anime fix. But if they can bring it down to two or three days, I will probably be tempted to go back to Crunchyroll. Another thing that’s kind of annoying related to this is that they are removing the fansubs basically all at once and replacing even the older videos with the professional subs, but obviously at a slower rate. Not only that, but once the videos are put up, the free members still have to wait at least a few days. Even for OLD episodes! That, to me, doesn’t make sense. And while the subs for Skip Beat look good and have an appealing font, the ones for Shugo Chara DO NOT! I was also going to start the second season, but the first videos of Shugo Chara Doki! aren’t up yet because of the redoing with professional subs. As much as I think this is a good step (and probably one of the hardest ones on the company side) in the right direction that will spread more anime legally, there’s still gotta be a bit more before a lot of people will follow this.

and… I just watched the latest episode of Skip Beat (episode 16) and OMG I CAN’T WAIT FOR THE NEXT EPISODE! It’s the start of my favourite arc! I’m so excited! This is gonna be AWESOME! lol

3 more exams…

Random Quote: You know, maybe if you eat more comfort food, you wouldn’t have to go around shooting people. – Hurley to Sayid, Lost

Yay Lost is starting up again! It’s an amazing show.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

