Catching up (slowly)

June 6, 2010 at 3:29 pm | Posted in Anime | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

So slowly…

Oh noes!

This was a pretty busy week so I’m only at episode 15. I’m also reading the manga concurrently (at about the same spot as where I currently am in the anime, around 33) so that may slightly slow me down too but I don’t think it’s too much of an issue. At this pace, I might just barely make it in time for the finale but I’ll see what I can do…

Please don’t eat me?

Anyway, this is also the point of divergence from the first anime (episode 14 actually) and I’m a little confused/surprised they’ve added characters from another country into the story. With them being in the new opening and ending themes, they’ll at least be around for this arc and to me that seems like this arc won’t be very important… unless Xing will have an important role (perhaps a war?). I figured if there was going to be a war, it would be internal, so this new level of complications is weirding me out a little. I just don’t know where this is really going anymore.

Since most of this is basically a recap, there’s not too much to say here other than this series is AWESOME. One thing that is a little weird is the different animation, where the characters seems to have gotten chubbier and they have different-coloured outlines? It’s hard to explain. Either way, I kind of got over that, even though they still look fairly chubby.

So this will mainly be a picture recap of sorts…

But before I go into complete picture mode, I just want to note a few differences. First, seeing more stuff about the Gate and the Truth. This was not made as big of an issue in the first series so it’s interesting that they’re putting more emphasis on it here which also explains more stuff, and how Al should have seen it too. Two, the state alchemist examination has been changed. I like both versions, but I see no reason to have bothered to change it in the first place. What was the point of that? Perhaps to better integrate that storyline with Tucker and Nina’s short but intense storyline? That aside, there was a fairly major WTF moment for me. Which was: YOU MEAN FUHRER KING BRADLEY IS NOT PRIDE BUT WRATH? What was that all about? So does the other Wrath exist? I guess I can kind of see why they changed that since they wanted to connect Izumi’s resurrected baby with the Homunculi and I don’t think he really fit the name Pride so they switched that. But then… I don’t really know what’s going on there anymore. Oh this was another WTF moment though not as grand: SLOTH IS A BIG GUY? Now I’m really getting confused. The two human transmutations we know of no longer are part of the Homunculi. So… now what? lol

Anyway, let’s relax our brain with some pictures.

Introducing Armstrong!

Poor Ed didn’t know what hit him.

Berserk button: pressed.

Hehehehehe…

BODY SLAM!

Aww it’s okay, Ed. lol.

Swaying… hips… must… not… dance!

That housewife kicks ass.

And so does this guy.

And last but not least, this week’s random quote/image:

“One of the few scenes where a man can cry and not have his man-license revoked.”
majingojira

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

