Distant worlds together…

July 18, 2010 at 1:34 am | Posted in Games, Music, Videos | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

… Miracles from realms beyond…


I had never heard this song before last Thursday and it is quite good. Of course, it is Final Fantasy music. 🙂

And where was I when I first heard this great song? Why, at the Distant Worlds concert in San Francisco!

Oh yes.

This was an amazing concert and a much better ‘real’ start to my trip in California after my flight got delayed a day. And guess who was at the concert?

Nobuo frickin Uematsu.

The genius composer (and God) of basically all Final Fantasy music. They shined a spotlight on him at the beginning of the show and he came back near the end. He didn’t say anything but oh my god I saw Nobuo Uematsu. Awesome.

Here was the setlist:

Opening~Bombing Mission (FINAL FANTASY VII)
Don’t be Afraid (FINAL FANTASY VIII)
Memoro de la Stono~Distant Worlds (FINAL FANTASY XI)
Medley 2002 (FINAL FANTASY I-III)
Main Theme of Final Fantasy VII (FINAL FANTASY VII)
Prima Vista Orchestra (FINAL FANTASY IX)
Kiss Me Goodbye (FINAL FANTASY XII)
Zanarkand (FINAL FANTASY X)
FINAL FANTASY series: Main Theme

The Man with the Machine Gun (FINAL FANTASY VIII)
Theme of Love (FINAL FANTASY IV)
JENOVA (FINAL FANTASY VII)
Ronfaure (FINAL FANTASY XI)
FINAL FANTASY XIII medley
FINAL FANTASY XIV medley
Opera “Maria and Draco” (FINAL FANTASY VI)
Terra’s Theme (FINAL FANTASY VI)

I can’t even begin to say how cool this concert was. Sure, I listen to this music all the time and know most of it by heart and could easily see some minor errors here and there in the performance, but there’s still something about hearing it live and with a large audience that makes the experience that much cooler.

A girl playing FFVII on her PSP during intermission.

I thought there were some interesting song choices… particularly from Final Fantasy VIII. I mean, come on, two battle themes? You can get away with that with FFVII, but FFVIII? There are other cool songs they could have chosen from, even if they didn’t want another slow song like Eyes On Me or Fisherman’s Horizon. What about Balamb Garden, Succession of Witches, Blue Fields or even Liberi Fatali? (Okay maybe not Liberi Fatali since they’d need a choir for that…) That isn’t to say I didn’t enjoy the two battle themes. They are quite awesome in their own right. But I felt like they could have spread the love a little more.

A cosplay of Tseng and Reno (Yes I did also get a picture with them.)

Also, since this was I guess a more ‘official’ concert as opposed to something like Video Games Live they were able to show offical game footage including FMVs and gameplay, which was a great addition to the music. I was a little confused why there were some bits they didn’t show (For example during the opera in FFVI, they showed everything from the game of that scene BUT the parts when the characters were singing. I guess this was done to put a greater emphasis on the singers, but if you’re going to taunt us with bits, that’s just mean.) But I will admit I’m being quite nitpicky. Even the parts they did show consistently kept a smile on my face.

Having seen the setlist beforehand, I remember thinking that there was no One-Winged Angel. Here they had Jenova and on the second day even Dancing Mad but no OWA. They even mentioned during the concert how they created a poll for what people thought the best battle themes were and they said that these two songs were on top of the list, so that’s why they included them. While the conductor, Arnie Roth, was saying this, I sat there thinking, “How is One-Winged Angel not number 1?” But then I thought, even if it was, like Liberi Fatali, it needed a chorus. But lo and behold, for their one encore song, the conductor said “We’re about to create one of the biggest choruses for our last song.” My heart was racing at insane speeds at this point as we all knew what was coming up. With the lyrics on the screen on top of awesome VII and Advent Children footage, we started singing along to the amazing song. Unfortunately, I’m not sure if it was because I was sitting on the balcony, but I could only hear my sisters next to me and a couple guys behind me really singing. But either way, that was a great way to end the night. We sang One-Winged Angel!

And, instead of a quote, I will end with a song. There were plenty of great ones to choose from, but I decided to go for the nostalgic classic.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

